top of page
Artboard 8.png

Kindergarten Teacher (Distant Learners)


Cox is once again partnering with NFM to honor the amazing work of educators in the area. The Cox Education Heroes program offers an opportunity to celebrate a favorite teacher or school employee — someone who is making a difference in education or in the lives of students. 


Twenty (20) selected honorees will be featured online and will receive a prize package consisting of a $500 gift card to NFM and an Education Heroes t-shirt.


Nominations were accepted

Friday, March 1 through Sunday, March 31, 2024.

Nominees must be an employee at a private or public primary or secondary school in Cox’s Nebraska/Iowa service area. List of cities can be located here:

Superintendents, principles, IT Department Leaders or any other employee who is responsible for making procurement decisions are not eligible and cannot be nominated.

NO PURCHASE NECESSARY TO ENTER OR WIN THE PROGRAM. Nominators must be legal residents of the 50 US & DC who are 18+ and reside in Cox’s greater Omaha, NE service area. Begins 8:00 a.m. CT on 3/1/24 & ends 11:59 p.m. CT on 6/1/24. Void where prohibited. Subject to Official Rules, available at  Sponsor: Cox Communications, Inc.

Artboard 6.png

Rebecca Mergens
Teacher - Heritage Elementary

When school started, we had no idea what a prodigious teacher we would encounter! Mrs. Mergens has an inclusive environment for a diverse group of students, some with special needs & her patience, kindness, acceptance & flexibility are unmatched when it comes to working with students in her classroom. When our child was hesitant to wear the prescribed eyepatch to school, Mrs. Mergens wore one herself until our child felt comfortable enough to join her. During field day, when two of her students were reluctant to run through the obstacle course, she kindly grabbed both of their hands & ran the whole course with them, time & time again. We have seen our child grow & flourish this year because of Mrs. Mergens. She is a teacher we will never forget & is a true hero!

Carol Steiner 
Teacher - Westside Middle School

Ms. Steiner has always cared deeply about her students. Even for those who just needed a place to be, she always had her door open, and she had a lasting impact on all of her old students. A fond memory I have is even after 7th grade, when I was in her class, I visited her every day of 8th grade. She cared about everyone she was with, and she still is an impotent person in my life two years later. She is a mentor and a second mother to me. She is someone anyone can trust, someone you can genuinely talk to. I owe her so much, and I would have had a much different

experience in middle school

if it wasn't for her.

bottom of page